SILVERMINE SCHOOL OF MUSIC
The Silvermine School of Music was
established in 1939 by pianist/thereminist
Juliet Shaw (1903-1994) whose artistic mission was to promote music,
bringing cultural enrichment to the community. She set
out to create a musical salon filled with the beauty of
music, art, and European antiques where young talent could
be developed and seasoned professionals could perform.
Originally a carriage house owned by cartoonist Tad
Powers, the structure was renovated, using the 14th
century Renaissance woodwork acquired from the library of
the former Rockefeller estate in Greenwich along with
doors in the entry hall designed from hand-blown Tiffany
glass from the same mansion. The result was a spacious
studio with a balcony which evokes an atmosphere of
old-world charm combined with natural acoustics in which
the listener enjoys a unique concert going experience.
Mrs. Shaw’s work with children and adults in solo and
duo-piano continued throughout her life.
1958 daughter Sandra joined her mother at the SSOM.
Under her direction, the school expanded and flourished,
continuing the tradition of nourishing the musical
community through combining musical education and excellence in performance.
The founder’s other daughter, pianist
Karen Shaw, pursued a concertizing and teaching career,
initiated the Artist Series at the SSOM in 1983 which
presents young artists and established artists in
concerts on Sundays at Silvermine. The
Series also presents lecture recitals, master classes, and
special events throughout the season.
Juliet Shaw and her two daughters
have been recognized for their contribution to the
community and achievement in the arts by the governor of